Tags

,

When I lost my mother, I had no clue of what was to come of me. While alive she tried to show me what to do for when she was to pass. Me not wanting to think about this I chose to listen with one ear. What a mistake that was, like I said before when she did pass I had no clue what to do.

This is for anyone who is in this situation. Well I firmly believe one doesn’t need a lawyer to get involved but if there happens to be family dispute issues get one. Make sure you are aware of a will if there is one. You should have a lawyer help you with wills and estate settlements. It makes everyone involved happy. Establish an executor of the estate. This is the one who will ensure everything is handled properly as for handling of the estate.

Of course upon death you check to see if a cemetery plot and funeral home was already set up. People tend to buy these things while they are still alive. Contact the local newspaper so the untimely death can be announced.

For me, things happened fast. Now was time to gather the financial means to put this all together. Finding out that a modest funeral cost about $7500 to $9000 and I surely didn’t have the money like that. We got into checking out life insurance policies, church and family and friend donations. While we were getting that we had to clear out her banking accounts. The executor of estate handles this to. At this point the executor has to open a bank account to hold the money for everything and be responsible to pay out for everything from this account.

Gather loved ones together and have a great funeral to honor the person’s life. It’s best to make this the main focus before everything else, such as settling the estate and debt. Make time to celebrate life and say proper goodbyes. Funerals can be great moments of closure, although difficult, they are much needed.